• THE MAX REVENUE LETTER
  • Posts
  • MRL #068- How To Sell More With LinkedIn (Even If You're Ugly, Uninteresting, and Unoriginal)

MRL #068- How To Sell More With LinkedIn (Even If You're Ugly, Uninteresting, and Unoriginal)

A few weeks ago I wrote a letter titled “The Ozempic of ProducerLand”.

In it I stated that I had heard of a Producer who supposedly did $400k last year via LinkedIn.

I went on to make the point that they were likely an outlier, to run your own race, and to not fall victim to the comparison trap.

Well…

I think a lot of people missed that last part, because the majority of the feedback I got either asked me who they were and how they could contact them, or if I knew what their secret sauce was and how they could duplicate their results.

Well, I’ve got some bad news and some even more bad news.

First, I don’t know the Producer personally, so “no” I can’t hook you up there.

Secondly, I doubt you could duplicate the same results.

You see…

To actually generate inbound leads via LinkedIn content you’d need to be most or all of the following:

- An A-List Copywriter
- An Instagram model
- Amazing Content Creator

And let’s face it…

The law of large numbers says you and I probably aren’t that.

Not to mention…

We’re talking about insurance here.

What a difficult space to create interesting content in!

That’s not to discourage you from creating content on LinkedIn though…

I think you should.

I just think…

Most Producers Think About LinkedIn Content Back-ass-wards

They think of content as a top-of-funnel strategy.

Meaning…

They think a business owner is going to magically discover their riveting insurance content and reach out to them to write their insurance.

Although this can and does happen…

I think for the majority of us (myself included) it’s not a viable or sustainable model.

What I do think is a viable and sustainable model, however, is treating content as a bottom-of-funnel strategy.

Meaning…

It’s where buyers who are already in your sales funnel go to vet, research, and learn more about you and what you do.

The easiest way I know how to explain it is to…

Think Of LinkedIn As Your Digital Business Card

To illustrate my point, I’m going to tell you a quick story.

Last week I was asked by my boss to start the process of looking for new office space.

I know almost nothing about commercial real estate so I reached out to a friend in the industry.

He stated that he specialized in industrial properties, but that he could refer me to two friends of his who both specialized in office space.

Perfect.

I jotted each number down and dialed them both.

After a few minutes on the phone with each of them it was apparent that both were competent, experienced, and willing to help.

Great.

The problem was…

I didn’t really know either of them, but I still had to choose one.

So, what do you think I did?

I went to LinkedIn and did some snooping around.

I typed in the first broker’s name and hit “search”…

His profile appeared.

Besides a dated picture in his bio, the name of his brokerage, and a few posts from 2018 and older…

Broker #1 had little to no presence on LinkedIn.

Then I typed in the second broker’s name and hit “search”…

His profile appeared.

Broker #2 was the exact opposite.

He did have a presence on LinkedIn.

A recent headshot, numerous articles authored, daily posts about the market and industry, how-to videos, a link to his personal website, a lead magnet, and a few thousand followers…

Broker #2 appeared way more legit.

So, weighing my options and the information in front of me I hired Broker #2.

And that’s the point I’m trying to make…

LinkedIn May Not Be A Great Lead Generation Tool For Most, But LinkedIn Can Be A Great Lead Conversion Tool For All

So, don’t give up on creating content, especially if you enjoy it.

And if you’re not creating content, maybe take a lesson from my CRE Broker story above, and start.

Because LinkedIn may never drive you a ton of new revenue on the front end…

But it can definitely help you close a ton of revenue on the back end.

If you’re looking for…

Tips & Tricks To Create Compelling Content On LinkedIn

We may have something coming down the pipeline for you in that department.

So stay tuned.

In the meantime, you can check out The Producer Playbook.

It’s our paint-by-numbers system for growing a book via cold calling.

That’s all I’ve got for you this week.

Time to lock the doors and count the sheep.

See you next Sunday.

Kick ass take names,

Maximus F Revenue IV

P.S. If you liked this newsletter, there are 2 ways we can help you:

  1. Check out The Producer Playbook 

    It’s our step-by-step guide to building a $1,000,000 book via cold prospecting… and costs less than a night out with friends.

  2. Join Max Revenue HQ

    It’s our community by Producers in the trenches, for Producers in the trenches. We’ve got almost 500 Producers already inside… and it’s absolutely FREE (for now).